The First Date Job Interview

“A date is a job interview that lasts all night.” -Jerry Seinfeld

Last week my boyfriend and I attended that “Harvest Fest” activity I was talking about. Unfortunately, due to the rainy weather we went to Navy Pier instead. It was a little “mall” full of tourist shops and kiosks, a couple of restaurants, a garden and a children’s museum. I definitely enjoyed myself; I usually do when I’m with my boyfriend.

My boyfriend and I were wondering about those awkward freshman couple who were on their first date. They’re stuck walking around the same ten stores peddling Chicago apparel and mementos for four hours.

First dates are tough anyway; they’re pretty much like a job interview like Jerry said. There is a lot of similarities. First of all, there is the flattery that out of the sea of applicants/ candidates, you were chosen.  Second, both involve some type of interrogation, or series of vague question which you are supposed to expound upon to give them some insight about you. Of course in both situations you are trying to impress them, but at the same you are sizing them up to see if they’re a good fit for a long-term relationship. Now, that’s a lot to handle on a four-hour first date.

Luckily, there are a couple of differences. To start with, motives. One has romantic intentions, the other, monetary. Also, even though both of these events start with a frantic and nervous anticipation in front of your closet, you’re communicating two different messages.  While playing up your best features is priority, one has a more professional slant. The method of interrogation varies as well, while one rattles of questions, one right after the other; compared to loaded questions hidden in casual conversation.

I’m so glad I’m done with that. Jesse and I are past the awkward nervous conversation point. We’re comfortable with each other. I enjoy his conversation, hearing him talk, but just being next to him makes me completely happy (okay, you can gag now.)

One thought on “The First Date Job Interview

Your thoughts on my thoughts?

